The Nürburgring Classic - authentic journey through time

In 2017, the Nürburgring celebrated its 90th birthday. On the exact day, the "Nürburgring Classic" went into action as an international motorsport meeting for historic vehicles on the Grand Prix circuit and the Nordschleife and thrilled visitors and participants.

The legendary Nürburgring in the Eifel region - without question the most famous race tracks in the world - fascinated racing heroes in 1927 just as it does fans, the curious and the active today. After the kick-off in 2017 for the anniversary, the Nürburgring Classic takes place annually in early summer.

The Nordschleife, the Grand Prix circuit, the historic and the new paddock - will become the scene of the old races, the club meetings and an incomparable journey through time with the new fresh classic format. The conceptual sponsor of the Nürburgring Classic as a "race event" is the DAMC 05 e.V. club, which was already committed and involved in the staging of the inaugural race in 1927.

Great variety of the good old motorsport time

The FHR - Fahrergemeinschaft Historischer Rennsport (Historic Racing Drivers' Association) - is involved, the German Touring Car Classics starts, the pre-war cars return, the Youngtimer Trophy is involved, the Cup and Touring Car Trophy is coming and more than 18 races and special runs ensure a thrilling program on the tracks.

In 2017, 17,000 visitors were already enthusiastic about the Nürburgring Classic, taking advantage of advance ticket sales and enjoying racing at its best on the tracks and in the paddocks.

In June of 2018, the second edition of the historic motorsport meeting already attracted slightly more than 20,000 enthusiastic visitors. Guests, fans, friends and classic car owners came - used the Eifel circuit as a destination and for the weekend stay with octane character. In 2019, the positive trend of the still young event continued and almost 25,000 visitors were fascinated by the colorful mixture of time travel, hard-hitting racing, old heroic images and classic classic car popular sports with family character.

 

A constant in the calendar

The program will once again include many areas and starting fields with many highlights that are extraordinarily popular - there will also, of course, again be many special opportunities to experience the teams and vehicles up close. That is what makes the Nürburgring Classic a "race event".

The pits in the Grand Prix paddock are always open, access to all paddocks is always included in the entry fee and numerous gridwalks give the opportunity to be a guest on the starting grid of the races and special runs before the start and to get a taste of real "racing air" on the starting straight - with the spectator gates open... just like motorsport then and now. Immerse yourself in tangible racing history at the traditional circuit in the Eifel.

 

Race of the classic race cars of the FHR

When the FHR endurance starter fields take to the track in the "Nürburgring Classic", they run the longest historic race apart from the 24-hour Classic in Le Mans, which only takes place every two years.

It is also spectacular when the old DTM cars of the "Tourenwagen Classics" come together again for a meeting in the Nürburgring Classic. Then the high attractiveness of the racing series "Tourenwagen Classics" makes the well-known vehicles from the active years of the DTM and touring cars. Formerly at the start for prominent and well-known racing teams and factory teams, the vehicles are now all in collector hands and are elaborately maintained and "ready to race" cared for. And often the prominent heroes of yesteryear take to the wheel again at the races of the Touring Car Classics and engage in the fights for positions.

In no other historic racing series are so many old vehicle/driver combinations from the good old DTM days to be seen.

 

Another highlight: The "100 Mile Trophy"... these are the sprint races for GTs and racing sports cars of the 70s & 80s.

An interesting field presents vehicles from the wild 70s and 80s, in which companies like Kremer Racing, Kannacher or Loos filled the spectator stands with their Group 5 bolides. But also, as usual at that time, Group 4 and racing cars will come to the start. The field is rounded off loudly with V8 vehicles. The series is open to GTs and racing sports cars built between 1966 and 1981 and Sports2000.

Weekend Heroes - be there yourself...

DAMC 05

"Be a racer for a weekend" is the call to all gentleman drivers with classic cars and all hobby classic car enthusiasts and club members.

 

The whole thing, however, always with a good portion of "grip on the ground". A special feature of the Nürburgring Classic are always the many special races in which classic car owners without elaborately converted racing cars can also go to the start.

To become a driver on the most legendary race track in the world with like-minded people is the goal and this "plan" guarantees an eventful weekend with lots of fun and pure emotions.

 

plakat eifelrennen 1927Some highlights at the Nürburgring Classic 2022

  • Motorsport meeting with over 20 races and over 800 starters and teams
  • Pre-war meeting as vintage meeting
  • Youngtimer Trophy
  • German Touring Car Classics and former DTM and STW cars at the Tourenwagen "Golden Era"
  • Paddock areas with time travel themes
  • Huge race transporter meeting
  • "Live Arena" with activities, talk, performances, vehicle demos and engine sound check!
  • Ferris wheel and rock concert
  • Fireworks on Saturday evening
  • Shopping areas, food court and family-friendly program with lots of variety
  • Gridwalks and Classic Gridgirls

Story & Highlights

Die Nürburgring Classic – authentische Zeitreise

Im Jahr 2017 feierte der Nürburgring seinen 90. Geburtstag. Taggenau ging die „Nürburgring Classic“ als internationales Motorsport-Meeting für historische Fahrzeuge auf dem Grand Prix Kurs und der Nordschleife an den Start und begeisterte die Besucher und Teilnehmer.

Der legendäre Nürburgring in der Eifel –ohne Frage die berühmtesten Rennstrecken der Welt – faszinierte 1927 die Rennsporthelden genau wie heute Fans, Neugierige und Aktive. Nach dem Auftakt 2017 zum Jubiläum findet die Nürburgring Classic jährlich im Frühsommer statt.

Die Nordschleife, der Grand Prix Kurs, das historische und das neue Fahrerlager – wird mit dem neuen frischen Klassiker-Format zum Schauplatz der alten Rennen, der Club-Meetings und einer unvergleichlichen Zeitreise. Der ideelle Träger der Nürburgring Classic als „Race Event“ ist der Verein DAMC 05 e.V., der schon bei der Austragung des Eröffnungsrennen im Jahr 1927 engagiert und involviert war.

Le Mans Start

Große Vielfalt der guten alten Motorsport-Zeit

Die FHR – Fahrergemeinschaft Historischer Rennsport – ist mit dabei, die Deutsche Tourenwagen Classics startet, die Vorkriegsfahrzeuge kommen wieder, die Youngtimer Trophy ist involviert, die Cup- und Tourenwagen-Trophy kommt und mehr als 18 Rennen und Sonderläufe sorgen für ein packendes Programm auf den Strecken.

Im Jahr 2017 begeisterten sich bereits 17.000 Besucher für die Nürburgring Classic, nutzten den Vorverkauf zum Ticketerwerb und genossen Rennsport bester Güte auf den Strecken und in den Paddocks.

Im Juni des Jahres 2018 kamen zur zweiten Auflage des historischen Motorsport-Meetings schon etwas mehr als 20.000 begeisterte Besucher. Gäste, Fans, Freunde und Klassiker-Besitzer kamen - nutzten den Eifelkurs als Ausflugsziel und für den Wochenend-Aufenthalt mit Oktan-Charakter. In 2019 setzte sich der positive Trend der noch jungen Veranstaltung fort und fast 25.000 Besucher faszinierte die bunte Mischung aus Zeitreise, knallhartem Rennsport, alten Heldenbildern und klassischem Oldtimer-Breitensport mit Familien-Charakter.

Formel Monoposto

Eine feste Größe im Kalender

Auch in 2020 sind im Programm der vielen Highlights viele Bereiche und Starterfelder, die sehr beliebt sind – auch wird es natürlich wieder viele besondere Möglichkeiten geben, die Teams und Fahrzeuge ganz hautnah zu erleben.

Die Boxen sind immer geöffnet, der Zugang zu allen Fahrerlagern ist im Eintritt immer schon inkludiert und zahlreiche Gridwalks geben die Möglichkeit vor dem Start in den Startaufstellungen zu Gast zu sein und auf der Startgeraden – bei geöffneten Zuschauertoren – echte Rennluft zu schnuppern... so wie damals und heute beim Motorsport. Authentischer geht es nicht.

Start FHR Langstrecken-Rennen

Rennen der Klassiker-Rennwagen der FHR

Wenn in der „Nürburgring Classic“ die FHR Langstrecken-Starterfelder auf die Strecke gehen, dann fahren diese das längste historische Rennen abseits der nur alle zwei Jahre stattfindenden 24-Stunden Classic in Le Mans.

Spektakulär ist auch, wenn in der Nürburgring Classic die alten DTM Fahrzeuge der „Tourenwagen Classics“ wieder zum Treffen zusammen kommen. Dann macht die hohe Attraktivität der Rennserie „Tourenwagen Classics“ die bekannten Fahrzeuge aus den aktiven Jahren der DTM und der Tourenwagen aus. Früher für prominente und bekannte Rennställe und Werksteams am Start, sind die Fahrzeuge heute alle in Sammlerhand und werden aufwändig instand gehalten und „ready to race“- gepflegt. Und oftmals greifen dann bei den Rennen der Tourenwagen Classics auch wieder die prominenten Helden von damals ins Lenkrad und stürzen sich in die Fights um Positionen.

In keiner historischen Rennserie sonst sind so viele alte Fahrzeug-Fahrer-Kombinationen der guten alten DTM-Zeit zu erleben.
 

Nürburgring Classic / Cannoneer Photography

Ein weiteres Highlight: Die „100 Meilen-Trophy“ im Jahr 2020…das sind die Sprintrennen für GTs und Rennsportwagen der 70er & 80er Jahre.

In einem interessanten Feld präsentieren sich Fahrzeuge aus den wilden 70er und 80er Jahren, in den Firmen wie Kremer Racing, Kannacher oder Loos mit ihren Gruppe 5 Boliden die Zuschauerränge füllten. Aber auch, wie damals üblich, kommen hier auch Gruppe 4 und Rennsportfahrzeuge an den Start. Abgerundet wird das Feld lautstark mit V8-Fahrzeugen. Ausgeschrieben ist die Serie für GTs und Rennsportwagen der Baujahre 1966 bis 1981 und Sports2000.

Weekend Heroes – selber dabei sein…

DAMC 05

„Sei ein Rennfahrer für ein Wochenende“ heißt der Aufruf an alle Gentlemen-Driver mit klassischen Automobilen und alle Hobby-Oldtimerfreunde und Club-Mitglieder.

Das Ganze aber immer mit einer gehörigen Portion „Bodenhaftung“. Besonderheit bei der Nürburgring Classic sind immer die vielen Sonderläufe in denen auch Klassikerbesitzer ohne aufwändig umgebaute Rennfahrzeuge an den Start gehen können.

Selber mit Gleichgesinnten zum Fahrer auf der legendärsten Rennstrecke der Welt werden, ist das Ziel und dieser „Plan“ garantiert ein ereignisreiches Wochenende mit viel Spaß und puren Emotionen.

 

plakat eifelrennen 1927Einige Highlights bei der Nürburgring Classic 2020

  • Motorsport-Meeting mit über 18 Rennen und Sonderläufen
  • Mehr als 800 Starter im Fahrerlager
  • FHR-Dunlop Endurance Cup und Youngtimer Trophy
  • Deutsche Tourenwagen Classics mit ehemaligen DTM- und STW-Wagen bei der „Tourenwagen Classics“
  • Can Ams, Interserie-Fahrzeuge und Big Banger
    zusammen mit der „100 Meilen Trophy“
  • Vorkriegs-Treffen der Vintage-Fahrer mit Nordschleifen-Fahrten
    und Le Mans Start
  • Historische Tourenwagen Trophy (HTGT)
  • "A gentle drivers trophy" – AGDT
  • CTT Cup und Tourenwagen in packenden Zweikämpfen
  • Paddock-Areale mit Zeitreise-Themen wie Renntransporter-Treffen
  • Nürburgring Classic „Live-Arena“ mit vielen Aktivitäten und Show-Teilen
  • Riesenrad und Rockkonzert (Samstagabend nach Veranstaltungs-Ende)
  • Gridwalks und Classic-Gridgirls
  • Familienfreundliches Programm mit viel Abwechslung